16 sides and 16 months

Oh dear, I’ve been neglectful and not updated this blog in quite a long time! It’s been almost 17 months since I last posted. Admittedly I’ve been doing less origami over the past couple years in order to devote more time to my studies– but I graduated from UC Davis this past September with a BA in Music Composition, so I’m back! Some origami-related highlights from the intervening year-and-a-half since my last post:

  • I had 17 original designs published in Todd Huisken’s book “Mormon Origami“, along with some of Nick Robinson’s work. This project took quite awhile– the commission was first proposed to me in early 2011– but I’m happy with the final product.
  • I diagrammed some of Joseph Wu’s work for the WWF Together app, which went on to win some nice awards.
  • I’ve diagrammed a couple models for Dan Robinson, and one of them was selected for “Origami Masters: Bugs“, edited by Marcio Noguchi.
  • I edited the East Bay Origami Convention 2013 convention book.
  • I got a job as music director at Loomis United Methodist Church! While not strictly origami-related, it means I can spend time on origami without worrying so much about rent.

But I know you’re all here for the origami content– so here’s a crease pattern that I’ve been meaning to post for awhile. This is a tessellation of hexadecagonal twists, but unlike the last time I used this arrangement, they’re not quite regular polygons– instead, the geometry has been tweaked so that each line begins and ends on a grid. The red square is the section of the pattern which appears in this photo.

gridplay_1

Needless to say, I expect this blog will be much busier during the next 16 months, so stay tuned for more!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 16 sides and 16 months

  1. Quite the list of achievements, especially the WWF app from what I can see. Good to have you back.

    I have 48 days until I finish my B.Sc. (fingers crossed), and its hard to suppress my excitement enough to finish up my thesis!

Leave a Reply

